On trails / Robert Moor.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Abstract:
      Summary: In 2009, while thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, Robert Moor began to wonder about the paths that lie beneath our feet: How do they form? Why do some improve over time while others devolve? What makes us follow or strike off on our own? Over the course of the next seven years, Moor traveled the globe, exploring trails of all kinds, from the miniscule to the massive. He learned the tricks of master trail-builders, hunted down long-lost Cherokee trails, and traced the origins of our road networks and the Internet. In each chapter, Moor interweaves his adventures with findings from science, history, philosophy, and nature writing -- combining the nomadic joys of Peter Matthiessen with the eclectic wisdom of Lewis Hyde's The Gift. Throughout, Moor reveals how this single topic--the oft-overlooked trail -- sheds new light on a wealth of age-old questions: How does order emerge out of chaos? How did animals first crawl forth from the seas and spread across continents? How has humanity's relationship with nature and technology shaped world around us? And, ultimately, how does each of us pick a path through life?
    • Notes:
      Includes bibliographical references.
      28
    • ISBN:
      9781476739236
      9781476739212
    • Accession Number:
      neos.8277112
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      MOOR, R. (Environmental journalist). On trails. [s. l.]: Simon & Schuster, 2016. ISBN 9781476739236. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat06118a&AN=neos.8277112&custid=s3443875. Acesso em: 7 jul. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Moor R (Environmental journalist). On Trails. Simon & Schuster; 2016. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat06118a&AN=neos.8277112&custid=s3443875. Accessed July 7, 2020.
    • AMA11:
      Moor R (Environmental journalist). On Trails. Simon & Schuster; 2016. Accessed July 7, 2020. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat06118a&AN=neos.8277112&custid=s3443875
    • APA:
      Moor, R. (Environmental journalist). (2016). On trails. Simon & Schuster.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Moor, Robert (Environmental journalist). 2016. On Trails. Simon & Schuster. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat06118a&AN=neos.8277112&custid=s3443875.
    • Harvard:
      Moor, R. (Environmental journalist) (2016) On trails. Simon & Schuster. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat06118a&AN=neos.8277112&custid=s3443875 (Accessed: 7 July 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Moor, R (Environmental journalist) 2016, On trails, Simon & Schuster, viewed 7 July 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Moor, Robert (Environmental journalist). On Trails. Simon & Schuster, 2016. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat06118a&AN=neos.8277112&custid=s3443875.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Moor, Robert (Environmental journalist). On Trails. Simon & Schuster, 2016. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat06118a&AN=neos.8277112&custid=s3443875.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Moor R (Environmental journalist). On trails [Internet]. Simon & Schuster; 2016 [cited 2020 Jul 7]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat06118a&AN=neos.8277112&custid=s3443875

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2016 June #1

*Starred Review* "In bewildering times—when all the old ways seem to be dissolving into mire—it serves us well to turn our eyes earthward and study the oft-overlooked wisdom beneath our feet," writes Moor, who makes good on his advice in this deeply informed study of the nature and history of trailmaking. While he's certainly conversant in current field research, from studies of the world's oldest trails (an exposed fossilized section of seabed dating back 565 million years) to the mapping of all major footpaths of the ancient Cherokee homeland, the author literally walks the walk, joining Oxford researcher Alexander Liu on the Newfoundland coast to limn the faint fossil trails left by the ancient Ediacaran biota, then hiking with the pistol-packing historian Lamar Marshall to ascertain an old Cherokee trail along a North Carolina ridgeline. There are revelations at every turn here, from the nature of shepherding, to the vast network of ancient animal and Native American trails that underlie modern North America, to the very qualities of the best trails—durability, efficiency, and flexibility—and how we learn from them even as we move beyond them. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2016 October #1

Moore, an award-winning environmental journalist, thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail in 2009, an experience that led him to contemplate the nature and history of trail making. The book that resulted from this exploration details a visit to the Elephant Sanctuary in Tennessee; a stint herding sheep in Black Mesa, AZ, near Navajo and Hopi reservations; and a hunt for old Cherokee trails in the Southeast. While the book itself defies easy categorization and resembles the kind of walking Moore engages in, meandering and immersive, the author primarily concerns himself with why humans, animals, and insects form trails; and why some survive while others disappear. Elephants create routes that lead them to the graves of their loved ones, while shepherds and sheep mold one another, collaborating in the mapping of effective paths. Most modern American roads were formed by the Native Americans who resided here for thousands of years. Native American pathmaking grew from the need to stalk game, and Moore notes that the Cherokee trekked across landscapes in moccasins heel-to-toe as if on a tightrope. Today we clomp through in heavy hiking boots; the goal is no longer to stalk or hunt but wandering for its own sake. VERDICT For fans of Annie Dillard and Jared Diamond alike, this book is suitable for all readers and is well worth the journey.—Barrie Olmstead, Sacramento P.L.. Copyright 2016 Library Journal.