Sworn to Silence

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      American Library Association
    • Publication Date:
      2009
    • Abstract:
      * Sworn to Silence. By Linda Castillo. June 2009. 352p. Minotaur, $23.95 (9780312374976). [ILLUSTRATION OMITTED] Ohio's Amish country serves as the bucolic [...]
    • ISSN:
      0006-7385
    • Rights:
      COPYRIGHT 2009 American Library Association
      Copyright 2009 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.
    • Accession Number:
      edsgcl.199800332
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      BLOCK, A. Sworn to Silence. Booklist, [s. l.], n. 17, p. 36, 2009. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=edsglr&AN=edsgcl.199800332&custid=s3443875. Acesso em: 29 jan. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Block A. Sworn to Silence. Booklist. 2009;(17):36. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=edsglr&AN=edsgcl.199800332&custid=s3443875. Accessed January 29, 2020.
    • APA:
      Block, A. (2009). Sworn to Silence. Booklist, (17), 36. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=edsglr&AN=edsgcl.199800332&custid=s3443875
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Block, Allison. 2009. “Sworn to Silence.” Booklist. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=edsglr&AN=edsgcl.199800332&custid=s3443875.
    • Harvard:
      Block, A. (2009) ‘Sworn to Silence’, Booklist, p. 36. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=edsglr&AN=edsgcl.199800332&custid=s3443875 (Accessed: 29 January 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Block, A 2009, ‘Sworn to Silence’, Booklist, no. 17, p. 36, viewed 29 January 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Block, Allison. “Sworn to Silence.” Booklist, no. 17, 2009, p. 36. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=edsglr&AN=edsgcl.199800332&custid=s3443875.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Block, Allison. “Sworn to Silence.” Booklist, 2009. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=edsglr&AN=edsgcl.199800332&custid=s3443875.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Block A. Sworn to Silence. Booklist [Internet]. 2009 [cited 2020 Jan 29];(17):36. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=edsglr&AN=edsgcl.199800332&custid=s3443875

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2009 May #1

*Starred Review* Ohio's Amish country serves as the bucolic backdrop for romance novelist Castillo's consistently chilling mystery debut. Kate Burkholder grew up in idyllic Painters Mill, where many residents drive buggies, shun electricity, and distance themselves from the complications of modern life. The presence of a serial killer shatters the stillness of the town, leaving its citizenry terrified and on guard. During this time, young Kate's life takes a fateful turn when she is sexually assaulted by an Amish man named Daniel Lapp. She shoots Lapp in self-defense and, seeing blood splattered across the floor, is certain he's dead. (Her father drags away the body, and the family banishes the incident from their memories, never reporting it to police.) With Lapp's demise, the area murders cease. Rattled residents rest easily once again. Fast-forward 16 years. Kate, now chief of police in Painters Mill, is faced with a series of brutal crimes in which the female victims are tortured and raped. Could Daniel Lapp still be alive? Kate battles her inner demons as she tracks down a killer who shows no sign of letting up. Can she come clean about her past without losing her job? Deeply flawed characters in a distinctive setting make this a crackling good series opener, recommended for fans of T. Jefferson Parker and Robert Ellis, whose books take place in very un-Amish settings but who generate the same kind of chills and suspense. Copyright 2009 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2009 February #1

Kate Burkholder, the newly appointed chief of police of Painters Mill, OH, must deal with the return of a vicious serial killer-a murderer whom Kate had killed 16 years earlier when she was a young Amish woman. Copyright 2009 Reed Business Information.

LJ Reviews 2009 March #2

This debut mystery introduces Police Chief Kate Burkholder of Painters Mill, OH. Kate grew up in that Amish community but abandoned her heritage after a traumatic event in her teen years. Now she's back, using her Amish background to navigate between the two factions in the community. Her hard-won equanimity is shaken when the body of a young woman is found. The murder appears to be nearly identical to a series of killings from 16 years ago, though Kate knows that it can't be the same person. As successive murders follow, she is forced to walk a tightrope between running a good investigation and protecting herself and her family. Sworn marks Castillo's move from romantic suspense to straight mystery, and judging by this novel, the move is a good one. Though the ending feels a bit rushed and serial killers abound in crime fiction today, this is very well done. The small-town setting, complicated relationships among the inhabitants, and the strong but battle-scarred protagonist bring Julia Spencer-Fleming's series to mind. Highly recommended for all libraries. [See Prepub Mystery, LJ 2/1/09.]—Jane Jorgenson, Madison P.L., WI

[Page 102]. Copyright 2009 Reed Business Information.

PW Reviews 2009 April #1

"A gun-toting, cursing, former Amish female chief of police" stars in this excellent first in a new suspense series from romance veteran Castillo (Fade to Red). When a serial killer strikes bucolic Painters Mill, Ohio, the killer's signature—Roman numerals ritualistically carved into each victim's abdomen—matches the MO of four unsolved murders from 16 years earlier. Police chief Kate Burkholder, who's reluctant to dredge up the past, must keep secret that she knows why the old murders stopped. Not satisfied with the case's progress, local politicos set up a multijurisdictional task force to assist, including a law-enforcement agent battling his own demons. The added scrutiny and the rising body count threaten to push the chief over the edge. Adept at creating characters with depth and nuance, Castillo smoothly integrates their backstories into a well-paced plot that illuminates the divide between the Amish and "English" worlds. (June)

[Page 27]. Copyright 2009 Reed Business Information.