The Sunshine Sisters

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      American Library Association
    • Publication Date:
      2017
    • Abstract:
      The Sunshine Sisters. By Jane Green. June 2017. 384p. Berkley, $26 (9780399583315). Ronni Sunshine may have achieved some success as an actress in Hollywood, [...]
    • ISSN:
      0006-7385
    • Rights:
      COPYRIGHT 2017 American Library Association
      Copyright 2017 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.
    • Accession Number:
      edsgcl.491487886
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      HUNTLEY, K. The Sunshine Sisters. Booklist, [s. l.], v. 113, n. 15, p. 29, 2017. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=edsglr&AN=edsgcl.491487886&custid=s3443875. Acesso em: 26 nov. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Huntley K. The Sunshine Sisters. Booklist. 2017;113(15):29. Accessed November 26, 2020. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=edsglr&AN=edsgcl.491487886&custid=s3443875
    • APA:
      Huntley, K. (2017, April 1). The Sunshine Sisters. Booklist, 113(15), 29.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Huntley, Kristine. 2017. “The Sunshine Sisters.” Booklist, April 1. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=edsglr&AN=edsgcl.491487886&custid=s3443875.
    • Harvard:
      Huntley, K. (2017) ‘The Sunshine Sisters’, Booklist, 1 April, p. 29. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=edsglr&AN=edsgcl.491487886&custid=s3443875 (Accessed: 26 November 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Huntley, K 2017, ‘The Sunshine Sisters’, Booklist, vol. 113, no. 15, p. 29, viewed 26 November 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Huntley, Kristine. “The Sunshine Sisters.” Booklist, vol. 113, no. 15, Apr. 2017, p. 29. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=edsglr&AN=edsgcl.491487886&custid=s3443875.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Huntley, Kristine. “The Sunshine Sisters.” Booklist, April 1, 2017. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=edsglr&AN=edsgcl.491487886&custid=s3443875.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Huntley K. The Sunshine Sisters. Booklist [Internet]. 2017 Apr 1 [cited 2020 Nov 26];113(15):29. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=edsglr&AN=edsgcl.491487886&custid=s3443875

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2017 April #1

Ronni Sunshine may have achieved some success as an actress in Hollywood, but as a mother she fell short. Now her three grown daughters are estranged from each other, and Ronni, who has been diagnosed with ALS, must bring them back together before she ends her life. Her eldest daughter, Nell, lives quietly on the farm where she raised her son, River. Middle daughter Meredith fled to London to escape her mother's criticism of her weight, only to find herself stuck in an unfulfilling accounting job with a controlling fiancé. And the youngest, Lizzy, has found career success as a celebrated New York chef, but she's been cheating on her husband for years with her business partner. When Ronni summons them all home to Connecticut, the three Sunshine sisters are thrust back together, not just to cope with the news that their mother is dying, but also to see if they can repair their fractured relationships. Green, whose novel The Beach House (2008) was recently optioned for film, presents readers with another warm and winning family tale. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: "Queen of the Beach Reads" Green (with 10 million copies sold around the world) will generate new buzz with a national tour and an enormous publicity campaign. Copyright 2017 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2017 April #1

The latest from Green (Jemima J; Falling) is a well-realized portrait of a dysfunctional family. Ronni Sunshine, the magnetic and distant actress mother of three daughters, came from England as a young woman to make her big break in Hollywood, but she never quite achieves superstar status. She marries and has three daughters, whose stories are told in snippets from their own viewpoints. We see young, teenage, and then adult versions of Nell, the oldest; Meredith, the classic middle child; and Lizzy, the youngest. The damage that Ronni has done to each daughter is laid bare in their stories. In the present, Ronni calls her daughters to her bedside with bad news. The Sunshine girls are each having significant problems in their own lives. Now, because of their mother, they finally are able to see and help one another instead of fighting. VERDICT Green does a wonderful job of creating realistic and lovable (despite themselves) characters. Fans of the author and readers who enjoy Elin Hilderbrand and Kristin Hannah will love this book. Highly recommended for all public library collections.—Kristen Stewart, Pearland Lib., Brazoria Cty. Lib. Syst., TX

Copyright 2017 Library Journal.