Business

Business Source Complete

Contains indexing and abstracts from important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals. Ebsco database, through LHCADL. Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library

Business Source Elite

Full text for nearly 1,000 business publications. Contains expanded PDF backfiles for more than 150 titles back to 1985 or the first issue published for that journal. Ebsco.

CBCA: Canadian Business and Current Affairs Complete

Canadas largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full text reference and current events database. Combines content from Reference, Current Events, Business, and Education subsets. ProQuest database, through LHCADL. Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library

Regional Business News

Indexes newswire services, local newspapers, and regional business journals. Full text for more than 75 North American regional business publications. Ebsco.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Credo Reference

Provides access to hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 200 videos. Credo.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online (Academic Edition)

Provides updated encyclopedia content from Encyclopedia Britannica, as well as extensive biographies and media content.

Oxford Dictionaries

Provides definitions, synonyms, grammar, and other word-related help.

Oxford Quick Reference

Provides access to entries from 139 reference books.

World Book

Provides general and academic encyclopedia content, timelines, videos, and images.

eBooks

Academic Collection, eBooks, Ebsco

Includes eBooks available from the provider Ebsco.

Canadian Collection, eBooks, Ebsco

Canadian eBook content covering topics such as Canadian history, native culture, politics, and current events from Canadian publishers and authors. Ebsco.

Canadian Electronic Library, eBooks (DesLibris)

eBooks and public documents from Canadian scholarly and independent publishers.

Nursing Collection, eBooks, Ebsco

Designed for nursing or allied health programs. Over 300 titles that focus on the needs of nursing professionals, including clinical guides, evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks, and professional growth titles. Ebsco.

Ovid nursing eBooks

Provides full-text access to a collection of nursing eBooks. OVID.

ProQuest eBook Central, College Complete

Includes eBooks available in the "College Complete Collection" from the provider ProQuest. 

Sage Knowledge EBA (Evidence Based Acquisitions) eBooks

eBooks collection containing over 4,600 titles. Content includes reference works, academic books, professional development titles in the Social Sciences. Sage.

Education

Education Research Complete

Provides full text education journals covering all areas of education, including early childhood, higher education, educational specialties, health education, etc. Ebsco.

ERIC: Education Resources Information Center

Contains full-text, digests, references, citations and abstracts on educational and education-related journals. Ebsco.

Films and Videos

Can-Core

Video streaming content that has been produced in Canada and has been selected for college and university use.

Criterion-on-Demand

Criterion-on-Demand provides full length streamed access to educationally relevant feature films. For educational use.

Criterion is currently experiencing playback issues. We are working to correct the problem.

Curio.ca

Curio.ca is CBC's subscription video streaming service with features from many CBC television programs. Instructors set up your own account. 

Films on Demand

Academic and technical video streaming resources including nursing, sociology, business, trades, and other subjects. 
 

Kanopy Video Streaming

Documentaries and feature films.

NFB (National Film Board) Campus

Use this link to access NFBCampus on the NLC network. NFBCampus includes films not freely available from the NFB.ca website.

General/Other

Academic Search Complete

Provides full text for nearly 4,500 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating 1975 to present. Ebsco database, through LHCADL.  Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library

Academic Search Elite

Provides full text for nearly 4,500 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating 1975 to present. Ebsco.

Alberta Research Portal

A selection of databases available to institutional members of The Alberta Library. This link simultaneously searches numerous broad subjects.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials

Combines the ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database with ATLA's online full-text collection of major religion and theology journals. Full text for articles and reviews from more than 230 journals selected by leading religious scholars. Ebsco database, through LHCADL. Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library

Canadian Newsstand

Offers full text access to nearly 300 newspapers from Canadian publishers. ProQuest.

Canadian Points of View Reference Centre

Full-text database designed to provide resources that present multiple sides of a current issue. Each topic includes an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument) and Critical Thinking Guide. Ebsco.

Canadian Reference Centre

Combines Canadian magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books to create the largest collection of regional full text content available to Canadian libraries. Ebsco.

Canadian Subsidy Directory

Information on financial help, subsidies, grants, loans, joint ventures, or any funding program offered by Canadian federal and provincial governments, associations and foundations.

CPI.Q: Canadian Periodical Index Quarterly

Includes 400 Canadian and some US journals, magazines, and newspapers of which 160 are full text. Content includes arts, humanities, social sciences, science, and technology. Gale/Cengage.

Discovery Search Advanced

Library search tool that aggregates most NLC database subscriptions, local holdings, and some open access material for one-stop searching. This search is included on the home page search on the Library website. Ebsco.

Edmonton Journal ePaper

Curricular use subscription to the Edmonton Journal. Login information can be found in the NLC Library Moodle.

Flipster

Flipster is a collection of digital popular magazines from many subject areas. Read the publications directly from your computer or mobile device. Ebsco.

Grant Connect

Imagine Canada's Grant Connect service allows organizations looking for funding to match with 10,000 Canadian funders, 550 corporate grantors, 300 government grantors, 120 America-to-Canada grantors and 200 other opportunities. Limited licenses are available. Contact the Library Director for access.

Ipsos Canada Public Opinion Polls

A range of opinion poll and survey results conducted by Ipsos Canada related to national and provincial politics, real estate buying habits, Canadian heritage, and other topics.

JSTOR

Provides access to six archival databases: Arts & Sciences Archive Collection IV, and Health and General Sciences Archive Collection. JSTOR.

Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library (LHCADL)

Content from digitized collections of material about Alberta - its cultural heritage, history, documents, and artifacts online. Your NLC Library also subscribes to the academic databases listed by title. LHCADL. Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library

MasterFILE Premier

Multidisciplinary database with full text information on a broad range of subject areas. Also includes biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection of photos, maps, and flags. Ebsco.

Publication Finder

Publication Finder allows users to search for articles in Northern Lakes College's databases collections from a citation, or to find and browse a specific journal by title. Publication Finder is also available on the home page of the library website. 

Statista

Statista provides statistics, reports, forecasts, studies and infographics from 18,000 world-wide sources on a broad range of social, economic, political, and other topics. Data can be downloaded as graphics, spreadsheets, PDF documents, or Power Point slides.

History

Making of the Modern World

Primary sources Including books, serials, pamphlets, and essays from leading collections.Tracks the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Gale/Cengage.

World History in Context

Offers scholarly analysis and full-text periodicals, reference work, videos, images, and primary documents covering multicultural, global, and research based content. Gale/Cengage database, through LHCADL. Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library

Indigenous Studies

Bibliography of Native North Americans

Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history and life from the sixteenth century to the present. The database is a tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, and policy makers. Ebsco database, through LHCADL. Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library

Indigenous Peoples: North America

Primary sources from both American and Canadian institutions, as well as direct-from-source from newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations. The collection also features indigenous-language materials, including dictionaries, bibles, and primers. Gale/Cengage.

Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool (iPortal), University of Saskatchewan

Electronic resources focusing primarily on indigenous Canadian materials with a secondary focus on North American and global materials.. Contains open source and NLC licensed resources. iPortal results are not included in Discovery searches. This resource must be searched directly.

Learning Software

BrainPOP

Animated curricular material for students and lesson plans, tutorials and resources for instructors. Password required. Ask the library.

Career Cruising

Skills and interest inventories, education and training information. Users may create an account to save their activities. If you are using Career Cruising for the first time and are off campus, you will require an ID and PIN (ask a counselor or the Library.) Once you are "in", create your own account in Career Cruising to use the resources.

Exam Bank

Alberta K-12: For use only for NLC Academic Upgrading courses. Password required. Ask the library. Trades and apprenticeship programs: For use only for NLC trades students. Password required. Ask a trades instructor.

Learn Alberta

Curricular resources for NLC K-12 students and Academic Upgrading teachers. Password required for some content. Ask the library.

LesPlan

Current events resources for NLC Academic Upgrading teachers. If you wish to be included, please contact Michelle Laderoute in Academic Upgrading.

Lynda.com

Online courses on technolgy and software. Limited licenses available. Contact the library for access.

Online Reference Centre, K-12

Supplementary curricular resources for NLC Academic Upgrading students and teachers from Learn Alberta. Password required for some content. Ask the library.

T4T (Tools for Teachers)

For Alberta licensed teachers. Set up your own account using your Alberta teaching certificate number. Provincially authorized supplementary K-12 resources and downloadable material.

Literature

Canadian Literary Centre

Monographs, biographies, essays and literary criticism from ECW (Essays on Canadian Writing) Press. Ebsco.

Literature Resource Center

Provides full-text of scholarly journals and literary magazines. Critical essays, topic overviews, biographies, across all literary genres, eras, and geographic locations. Gale/Cengage database, through LHCADL. Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library

Shakespeare Collection

Provides general reference data, full text periodicals, criticism, primary source material and annoteated works specific to the study of William Shakespeare. Gale/Cengage database, through LHCADL. Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library

Nursing and Allied Health

ALT Health Watch

Alt (alternative) health information and materials for the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies, with in-depth coverage in many subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. Ebsco.

CINAHL: Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature Plus with Full Text

Full text for more than 275 books/monographs with full-text coverage dating back to 1937, including evidence-based care sheets. A research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health study. Ebsco database, through LHCADL. Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library

E-Therapeutics+ Complete - RxTx

For NLC nursing and allied health students and staff only. Contains CPS (Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties) drugs, conditions, resources, and advisories. Issued by the Canadian Pharmacists Association. Two simultaneous logins allowed. Password required. Ask a nursing instructor, Allied Health instructor, or the library.

Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module

Provides comprehensive coverage related to medical, statistical, health, and related information. Gale/Cengage.

Health Reference Centre Academic

Provides full-text and images from nursing, allied health, and medical journals, consumer health magazines, and other sources. Gale/Cengage.

Health Source Consumer Edition

Provides consumer health magazines, pamphlets, reference books and clinical systems reference reports. Also includes a medical dictionary. Some peer-reviewed content. Ebsco.

Magill's Medical Guide, 7th ed. (Salem Press)

Medical information suitable for student research, and general use, including for patients and caregivers. 

MEDLINE

Citations, abstracts, and full-text for biomedical and health journals covering a wide range of subjects. Ebsco.

Ovid nursing eJournals

Provides full-text articles from seven current nursing publications. OVID.

Science

Access Science

Provides primary resources, videos, animations and other material covering all science disciplines, including medicine, earth science, agriculture and forestry, biology, chemistry, physics, and others. Mobile access available. McGraw Hill.

Environment Complete

Provides articles in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution, and more. Ebsco.

Science Reference Center

Contains articles from science encyclopedias, reference books, journals, and other sources. Includes image search. Ebsco.

Sociology

Archives of Human Sexuality & Gender

Primary source material related to social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Gale/Cengage.

SocINDEX with Full Text

Provides comprehensive research articles covering the broad spectrum of sociology study. Ebsco database, through LHCADL. Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library